East Mississippi Center for Educational Development (EMCED) is located on the Meridian Campus of Mississippi State University. EMCED serves 25 public school districts across 19 counties in the East Mississippi area. School districts pay an annual membership fee based upon the number of teachers and administrators employed by the district. EMCED serves an educational community of over 6,000 teachers and administrators.

EMCED is committed to assuming a strong leadership role in supporting public educators' efforts to develop quality learning environments in which all children can obtain a quality education. EMCED's partnership with member school districts and Mississippi State University promotes high-quality instruction in the classroom and overall school improvement by enhancing and improving the personal and professional effectiveness of educators. This is accomplished through high-quality professional development opportunities and support services provided in an efficient and affordable format. EMCED concentrates delivery of professional development services through a full range of regional offerings as well as in-district professional development sessions.

The consortium is governed by a board of directors comprised of the superintendents of member school districts. An executive committee is elected from the board to oversee the operations of the consortium. The executive director serves as chief executive officer of the consortium and is selected and appointed by the board of directors.

FY21/22 Member School Districts:

  • Attala County
  • Choctaw County
  • Columbus Municipal
  • East Jasper
  • Enterprise
  • Forest Municipal
  • Kemper County
  • Lauderdale County
  • Leake County
  • Louisville Municipal
  • Meridian Public
  • Neshoba County
  • Newton County
  • Newton Municipal
  • Noxubee County
  • Pearl Public
  • Philadelphia Public
  • Quitman
  • Rankin County
  • Scott County
  • Simpson County
  • Smith County
  • Union Public
  • West Jasper Consolidated
  • West Point

FY21/22 Member Organizations:

  • MS State University
  • Meridian Community College